14th Anniversary Program Specifics:

Burton Awards Fourteenth Annual Awards Program and Gala: The Burton Awards for Legal Achievement, held in Association with the Library of Congress, is an academic, nonprofit, 501(c)(3) foundation formed in 1999.

Date: Monday, June 3, 2013.

Burton Awards event begins: Coolidge Auditorium, 4:45 p.m. prompt.
Cocktail Reception: Great Hall, 7:00 p.m.
Gala/Dinner: Great Hall, Atrium Level, 7:30 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.

Entertainment: A performance by Emmy, Grammy and Tony Nominee Vanessa Williams.

Nature of Burton Awards: The awards program is designed to reward major achievements in the law, ranging from literary awards to the greatest reform in law. The awards are selected by professors from Harvard Law School, University of Pennsylvania Law School, and the University of California at Irvine School of Law, among others. Judge Richard Posner (7th Circuit US Court of Appeals), Chief Judge Alex Kozinski (9th Circuit US Court of Appeals), U.S. Senator John Cornyn, U.S. Senator Robert P. Casey, Jr., U.S. Senator Mike Crapo, Chairman Spencer Bachus, Judith Kaye (Chief Judge of the New York Court of Appeals) (retired), Supreme Court Justice Carol Corrigan of California, Thomas L. Sager (Senior Vice President and General Counsel of E.I. du Pont de Nemours and Company) and Sabine Curto (Senior Director of Administration, Kirkland & Ellis LLP) are honorary members on the Board of Directors.

Event Venue: Library of Congress, Coolidge Auditorium and Great Hall.
City/State/Zip: 10 First Street, S.E., Washington, D.C.
Address of Burton Awards: 110 Wall Street, 11th Floor New York, New York 10005-3198

Chair: William Burton, Esq.
Title: Founder and Chair
E-mail address:
Contact Person: Michelle Rayzman
Title: Associate Director
Telephone: (212) 672-1862
FAX Number: (516) 625-3011

Approximate size/description of the audience: 500 guests

List of invited government officials, dignitaries, VIPS: The dignitaries include many of America's managing partners and partners of the largest law firms in America, law school deans, and professors from across the nation.

Is the event open to the press? Yes, but the press is not invited through any general outreach efforts. Therefore, members of the press have rarely been present.

What is the theme of the Burton Awards event? "The Crowning Awards of Achievement"

What is the proper attire? Black Tie

Is this a fundraising event? No, fundraising events in the Jefferson Building are not permitted.

Who are the hosts and the sponsor?  The Library of Congress and the Burton Foundation.

About the Library of Congress, Co-Host: The Library of Congress is the research Library of the United States Congress, de facto national library of the United States, and the oldest federal cultural institution in the United States. Located in three buildings in Washington, D.C., it is the largest library in the world by shelf space and holds the largest number of books. The Library of Congress was established by Congress in 1800, and was housed in the United States Capitol for most of the 19th century. The Library's primary mission is researching inquiries made by members of Congress through the Congressional Research Service; although it is open to the public, only legislators, Supreme Court justices and other high-ranking government officials may check out books.

The Burton Foundation, Co-Host
The Burton Foundation is a nonprofit, cultural and academic organization devoted to further promoting the performance and stature of the legal profession.

About the Chairman
The Founder and Chair of The Burton Awards for Legal Achievement is William C. Burton, Esq., a partner in the law firm of Sagat|Burton LLP. He is a former New York State Assistant Attorney General, a former New York State Assistant Special Prosecutor, and the author of the first legal thesaurus ever written for the legal profession, BURTON'S LEGAL THESAURUS, (4th edition), published by McGraw-Hill. He was presented the highest honor given by the second largest association of law professors in America, The Legal Writing Institute, for "significantly advancing the cause of legal writing in the profession of law."

Contact the Burton Awards Contact the Burton Awards Contact the Burton Awards