Cozen O’Connor Wins Blog of the Year in Law


March 13, 2017

New York, New York: The law firm of Cozen O’Connor has been chosen by the Burton Awards as “Blog of the Year in Law.” The firm’s “The State AG Report” is the 2017 winner by the national, non-profit awards program.

Cozen O’Connor’s blog reports on issues and actions taken by Attorneys General in the United States. In addition, it analyzes the impact that decisions by Attorneys General have on policies, law enforcement, and business issues. According to William Burton, Founder and Chair, the award was presented for “the finest updated news on a subject in blog fashion, which presented outstanding insights and analysis and writing.” Cozen’s Attorneys General Practice Co-Chairs Bernard Nash and Lori Kalani are Co-Editors of the weekly blog.

This year, the Burton Awards, which is held in association with the Library of Congress, presented by Lead Sponsor, Law360, and co-sponsored by the American Bar Association, celebrates its eighteenth anniversary. The awards ceremony, which will be held on May 22, 2017 at the Library of Congress, will be followed by a reception, dinner, and gala. During the awards program, U.S. Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg will be the guest speaker. The honorary and distinguished Board of Directors of the Burton Awards program includes: Former Chief Judge Richard Posner, 7th Circuit U.S. Court of Appeals; Judge Alex Kozinski, 9th Circuit U.S. Court of Appeals; U.S. Senator John Cornyn; U.S. Senator Robert P. Casey, Jr.; U.S. Senator Mike Crapo; U.S. Senator Michael F. Bennet; Supreme Court Justice Carol Corrigan of California; Yabo Lin, Partner, Sidley Austin LLP; Jane Sullivan Roberts, Partner, Major, Lindsey & Africa; Lisa Rickard, President, U.S. Chamber Institute for Legal Reform; Elissa Lichtenstein, Director, Public Services Division, American Bar Association; Thomas L. Sager, Partner, Ballard Spahr LLP; Les Parrette, Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Compliance Officer, Novelis Inc.; James M. Rishwain, Jr., Chairman of Emeritus, Pillsbury Winthrop LLP; Betty Whelchel, Head of Public Policy & Regulatory Affairs, BNP Paribas SA; and Stephen R. Mysliwiec, Partner, DLA Piper LLP (US).


The Burton Awards, established in 1999, is funded by the Burton Foundation, a non-profit, academic effort devoted to recognizing and rewarding excellence in the legal profession. The Burton Awards was established to honor the finest accomplishments in law, including writing, reform, public service and interest, regulatory innovation, and lifetime achievements in the profession.


This prominent institution is one of the most celebrated and distinguished libraries in the world. It was established on April 24, 1800, and since that time has grown to become one of the largest repositories in history. The Library of Congress functions as both a national library and as the research arm of the U.S. Congress. It contains more than 32 million catalogued books and more than 62 million manuscripts.


The Founder and Chair of The Burton Awards is William C. Burton, Esq., a partner in the law firm of Sagat|Burton LLP. He is a former New York State Assistant Attorney General, a former New York State Assistant Special Prosecutor, and is the author of the first legal thesaurus ever written for the legal profession, entitled BURTON’S LEGAL THESAURUS. The book is now in its 5th edition and quickly approaching its 35th anniversary. When the book was released, the Association of American Publishers recognized it as “one of the Most Innovative and Creative Projects of the year.” In 2011, Mr. Burton was presented the highest honor given by the second largest association of law professors in America, The Legal Writing Institute. He was recognized for “significantly advancing the cause of legal writing in the profession of law.” More recently, he was awarded the “Blackstone Award” by the Friends of the Law Library of Congress, for “embodying and promoting the best ideals of the institution.”