Finest General Counsel Selected By The Burton Awards Program


March 4, 2019

New York, New York: The Burton Awards, a national non-profit program, which is run in association with the Library of Congress, presented by lead sponsor Law360, and co-sponsored by the American Bar Association released its list of general counsel who will be named as Legends in Law. This year the program is celebrating its Twentieth Anniversary Program on May 20, 2019 at the Library of Congress.

Tom Sager, partner at Ballard Spahr, and Les Parrette, Senior Vice President, General Counsel, Secretary and Compliance Officer of Novelis Inc., who co-chair the Legends in Law Committee stated that “all the winners passed the strictest scrutiny. The general counsel were evaluated based on: an outstanding reputation in the legal profession and a demonstrated track record of addressing complex matters of national or global significance in a specialized area. The honorees have also evidenced leadership, creativity and a uniqueness in approach to resolving challenges confronting their corporate clients. Finally, they are highly respected by the bench and bar for their integrity and professionalism.” Lisa Rickard, President of the U.S. Chamber Institute for Legal Reform and sponsor of the Legends in Law event said, “The general counsel that are selected are truly exemplary. They moved the bar even higher because of their stellar records of accomplishments.”

After the awards program a gala will be held with a reception with an orchestra. In the evening, the awards ceremony will be followed by a gala reception, dinner, and performance by singer, actor and songwriter Idina Menzel and nationally recognized magician Shin Lim. All the events will be held at the Library of Congress.

The following General Counsel will be named Legends in Law for their exceptional careers in law:

3M Company
Ivan Fong
Senior Vice President, Legal Affairs and General Counsel

The Allstate Corporation
Susan L. Lees
Executive Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary

Bristol-Myers Squibb
Sandra Leung
Executive Vice President, General Counsel

Chevron Corporation
Hewitt Pate
Vice President and General Counsel

Cox Enterprises, Inc.
Juliette Pryor
Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary

Discover Financial Services, Inc.
Kelly McNamara Corley
Former Executive Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary

eBay Inc.
Marie Oh Huber
SVP Legal Affairs, General Counsel & Secretary

Marriott International
Rena Hozore Reiss
Executive Vice President and General Counsel

Molson Coors
Lee Reichert
Chief Legal & Corporate Affairs Officer

Oracle Corporation
Dorian Daley
Executive Vice President, General Counsel, and Secretary

Uber Technologies Inc.
Tony West
Senior Vice President, Chief Legal Officer and Corporate Secretary

United Parcel Service (UPS)
Norman M. Brothers, Jr.
Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary

Univar Inc.
Jeffrey Carr
Senior Vice President, General Counsel & Corporate Secretary


The Burton Awards, established in 1999, are funded by the Burton Foundation, a non-profit, academic effort devoted to recognizing and rewarding excellence in the legal profession. The Burton Awards were established to honor the finest accomplishments in law, including writing, reform, public service and interest, regulatory innovation, and lifetime achievements in the profession.  The honorary and distinguished Board of Directors of the Burton Awards program includes: Chief Judge Richard Posner, 7th Circuit U.S. Court of Appeals (retired); U.S. Senator John Cornyn; U.S. Senator Robert P. Casey, Jr.; U.S. Senator Mike Crapo; U.S. Senator Michael F. Bennet; U.S. Senator Chris Van Hollen; U.S. Senator Cory Gardner; Supreme Court Justice Carol Corrigan of California; Yabo Lin, Partner, Sidley Austin LLP; Jane Sullivan Roberts, Partner, McLegal Group; Rodgin Cohen, Senior Chairman, Sullivan & Cromwell LLP; Lisa Rickard, President, U.S. Chamber Institute for Legal Reform; Thomas L. Sager, Partner, Ballard Spahr LLP; Les Parrette, Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Compliance Officer, Novelis Inc.; James M. Rishwain, Jr., Chairman  Emeritus, Pillsbury Winthrop LLP; Betty Whelchel, Head of Public Policy & Regulatory Affairs, BNP Paribas SA; Linda A. Klein, Senior Managing Shareholder at Baker Donelson Bearman Caldwell & Berkowitz and Past President, American Bar Association; and Stephen R. Mysliwiec, Partner, DLA Piper LLP (US).


Law360, a LexisNexis company, is a trusted provider of breaking legal news and in-depth analysis, with up-to-the-minute, comprehensive coverage of litigation, regulation and enforcement, legislation, administrative proceedings, executive actions, corporate deals, legal industry trends, and more. With a unique blend of cutting-edge technology and journalistic expertise, Law360 delivers the intelligence legal and business professionals at top law firms, Fortune 1000 companies, key government agencies, and many other organizations need to remain experts, mitigate risk, and beat the competition.


With nearly 400,000 members, the American Bar Association is one of the largest voluntary professional membership organizations in the world. As the national voice of the legal profession, the ABA works to improve the administration of justice, promotes programs that assist lawyers and judges in their work, accredits law schools, provides continuing legal education, and works to build public understanding around the world of the importance of the rule of law.


This prominent institution is one of the most celebrated and distinguished libraries in the world. It was established on April 24, 1800, and since that time has grown to become one of the largest repositories in history. The Library of Congress functions as both a national library and as the research arm of the U.S. Congress. It contains more than 32 million catalogued books and more than 62 million manuscripts.


The Founder and Chair of The Burton Awards for Legal Achievement is William C. Burton, Esq., a partner at the law firm of Sagat|Burton LLP. He is a former New York State Assistant Attorney General, a former New York State Assistant Special Prosecutor, and is the author of the first legal thesaurus ever written for the legal profession, entitled Burton’s Legal Thesaurus. The book is now in its 5th edition and quickly approaching its 35th anniversary. When the book was released, the Association of American Publishers recognized it as “one of the Most innovative and creative projects of the year.” In 2011, Mr. Burton was presented the highest honor given by the second largest association of law professors in America, The Legal Writing Institute, for “significantly advancing the cause of legal writing in the profession of law.” More recently, he was awarded the “Blackstone Award” by the Friends of the Law Library of Congress, for “embodying and promoting the best ideals of the institution.” In 2017 The U.S. Chamber of Commerce Institute for Legal Reform Individual Achievement Award was presented to Mr. Burton for making the U.S. Justice System “fairer for all.”


The U.S. Chamber Institute for Legal Reform seeks to promote civil justice reform through legislative, political, judicial, and educational activities at the global, national, state, and local levels.