Burton Awards Postpones 2020 Event

New York, New York: The Burton Awards has announced that due to the Coronavirus crisis it will postpone its June 2020 event a year later to June 14, 2021. The non-profit awards program features awards to lawyers in the military, counsel serving in government, general counsel, managing partners, and authors. The program is run in association with the Library of Congress, presented by lead sponsor Law360, and co-sponsored by the American Bar Association.

The decision was made by William C. Burton, the Founder and Chair. Mr. Burton said “I turned to my brain trusts and together we decided that a year was necessary to allow the world to right itself. We are quite optimistic that after the next twelve months have passed, we will pick up right where we left off. The hiatus will allow us to build on the event and even add a few more awards to promote excellence in the legal profession.”

Please go to www.burtonawards.com for information about the program.  Below is a list of the 2020 Burton Award Recipients, all of whom will be honored on June 14, 2021 at the Library of Congress in Washington, DC.


Justice Neil M. Gorsuch
Associate Justice, Supreme Court of the United States
For his book “A Republic, If You Can Keep It”


Judge Dennis Archer
Associate Judge of the Michigan Supreme Court (1986-1990),
Mayor of Detroit (1994-2001), ABA President (2003-2004)


Mark Brazeal, Broadcom Inc. – Chief Legal Officer

Jonathan P. Graham, Amgen – Executive Vice President, General Counsel, Secretary

John S. Jenkins Jr., TE Connectivity – Executive Vice President, General Counsel

James Kelleher, Liberty Mutual Insurance – Executive Vice President, Chief Legal Officer

James Y. Kerr II, Southern Company – Executive Vice President, General Counsel, Chief Compliance Officer

Deborah P. Majoras, The Procter & Gamble Company – Chief Legal Officer, Secretary

George A. Massih III, Corporation Service Company – General Counsel

Justin Miller, Avantor – Executive Vice President, General Counsel

Jonathan Olefson, Syneos Health – General Counsel

Lori A. Schechter, McKesson Corporation – Executive Vice President, Chief Legal Officer, General Counsel

Laura Stein, The Clorox Company – Executive Vice President – General Counsel & Corporate Affairs

Alan Tse, Jones Lang LaSalle Incorporated – Global Chief Legal Officer, Corporate Secretary

Patrice Walch-Watson, CPP Investments – Senior Managing Director, General Counsel, Corporate Secretary


Brad Karp, Chairman: Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP


Colonel Tania M. Martin, Chief: Personnel, Plans and Training Office, in the Office of The Judge Advocate General in the Pentagon; United States Arm



Nancy E. Weiss, General Counsel: Institute of Museum and Library Services

Member of the U.S. delegation to the Standing Committee on Copyright and Related Rights at the World Intellectual Property Organization; Secretary of The National Museum and Library Services Board


Lara Eilhardt, Special Advisor: Veterans’ Access to Legal Services

Pro Bono Manager for the VA Office of General Counsel; Advisor to the VA General Counsel and Senior Leadership



Armstrong Teasdale
Charles (Chuck) Steese, Partner
Douglas Marsh, Associate

Best Best & Krieger LLP
Gene Tanaka, Partner

Bond, Schoeneck & King PLLC
Louis P. DiLorenzo, Partner
John Gaal, Partner

Butler Snow LLP
Luther T. Munford, Partner
Erin P. Lane, Former Partner

Cadwalader, Wickersham & Taft LLP
Dr. Dorothy Auth, Partner
Danielle Vincenti Tully, Special Counsel
Michael J. Sebba, Associate

Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP
Hon. Katherine B. Forrest (Former), Partner

Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP
Margaret Tahyar, Partner

DLA Piper
Eric Christofferson, Partner
John M. Hillebrecht, Partner
Lisa Tenorio-Kutzkey, Partner

Eversheds Sutherland (U.S.) LLP
Timothy Gustafson, Partner
Ted Friedman, Counsel
Alexandra “Lexi” Louderback, Associate
Chelsea Marmor, Associate

Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP
Libby Baney, Partner
Niamh M. Lewis, Co-Author, National Association of Boards of Pharmacy

Foley & Lardner LLP
Donald H. Romano, Of Counsel

Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP
Alex Potter, Partner
Laura Collins, Senior Associate
Martin Dickson, Associate

Jenner & Block
David R. Singer, Partner
Camila Connolly, Associate

King & Spalding LLP
Mark Davies, Partner
Sawyer Duncan, Corporate Lawyer

Lightfoot, Franklin & White LLC
Christian King, Founding Partner
Amber N. Hall, Associate
Bridget E. Harris, Associate

McGuireWoods LLP
Andrew McBride, Partner

Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP
Lewis M. Csedrik, Partner
Levi McAllister, Partner
Arjun Prasad Ramadevanahalli, Associate

Morrison Cohen LLP
Hon. David B. Saxe (Retired), Partner

Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP
Christopher Boehning, Partner
Daniel J. Toal, Partner

Perkins Coie, LLP
Robert Maynard, Partner
Chris Thomas, Partner
Ken Houser, Co-Author, Senior Principal,
SWCA Environmental Consultants
Chris Garrett, Co-Author, NEPA Specialist,
SWCA Environmental Consultants

Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman
Ashleigh Acevedo, Counsel
Norman F. Carlin, Counsel
Eric Moorman, Counsel
Kevin Ashe, Associate, Currently with Holland & Knight

Porter Wright Morris & Arthur LLP
Richard M. Mescher, Partner

Reed Smith and Greenspoon Marder
Kim Gold, Partner
Marla Neufeld, Partner

Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP
Karen Hoffman Lent, Partner
Kenneth B. Schwartz, Partner

Squire Patton Boggs
Daniel G. Berick, Partner
Leah Brownlee, Partner
Tamara Fraizer, Partner

Stroock & Stroock & Lavan LLP
Dina Kolker, Partner

Sullivan & Cromwell LLP
Tom Baxter, Counsel

Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP
Jeremy P. Auster, Partner
Jeremy C. Cain, Partner
Todd Larson, Partner

White & Case LLP
Bijal Vakil, Partner

David Gringer, Partner
Brian K. Mahanna, Partner
Bonnie Heiple, Counsel
Heidi Ruckriegle, Senior Associate



Antonin Scalia Law School at George Mason University
MJ Egan

Brooklyn Law School
Evan Drake

Emory University School of Law
Elijah O’Kelley

Fordham University School of Law
Nadav D. Ben Zur

Howard University School of Law
Quiana D. Harris

Stanford Law School
Joseph (Joe) Zabel

Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law at Arizona State University
Walter G. Johnson

Tulane Law School
Jenna Raden

University of Arizona, James E. Rogers College of Law
Randall D. Nice

University of Florida Levin College of Law
Victor M. Palace

University of Houston Law Center
Vanessa Garza

University of Miami School of Law
Hannah Gordon

University of Michigan Law School
Julie C. Michalski

University of Wisconsin Law School
Brian P. Cawley

West Virginia University College of Law
Amanda Demmerle

William & Mary Law School
Elisha Teibel