2023 Law360 Distinguished Legal Writing Award – Law School Winners Announced!

The Burton Awards is pleased to award the finest law school writers with the “Law360 Distinguished Legal Writing Award – Law School.” The winners were chosen from nominations submitted by the nation’s top 500 law schools.

The following law school writers will be awarded “Law360 Distinguished Legal Writing Awards”:

Sarah Baulac, Ave Maria Law School
“In the Business of Medicine: Why Hospitals Should be Subject to the Theory of Strict Liability as Any Other Seller”

Logan Krulish, Baylor Law School
“Defending the de-SPAC Merger: What Standard of Review Applies?”

Adam Reed Moore, BYU Law School
“Public Trauma: Why Utah Should Waive Immunity for Mental Anguish Injuries”

Margaret M. Murphy, Catholic University of America
“All for Nothing?: Executive Authority and Congressional Evasion on Arms Sales”

Aneesa Mazumdar, Columbia Law School
“Algorithmic Collusion: Reviving Section 5 of the FTC Act”

Val Rigodon, City University of New York (CUNY) School of Law
“Death by a Thousand Duck Bites in a No-Man’s Land: Navigating Section 230’s Scope and Impact in a Changing Internet and World”

Connor Leydecker, Duke University School of Law
“A Different Curse: Improving the Antitrust Debate About “Bigness”

Everett Stanley, Emory University School of Law
“A Peace Treaty for the Bar Wars” An Updated Framework to Determine Permissibility of Mandatory Bar Association Activity”

Charles Thau, Georgetown University Law Center
“Is This Really the Best We Can Do? American Courts Irrational Efforts Clause Jurisprudence and How We Can Fix It”

Adira Levine, Harvard Law School
“FOIA Disclosure and the Supreme Court”

Morgan Catherine York, Indiana University Maurer School of Law
“I Just Took a DNA Test – Turns Out, I’m 100% Breaching My Donor Anonymity Contract: Direct-to-Consumer DNA Testing and Parental Medical Decision-Making”

Joseph Castro, Pepperdine University Caruso School of Law
“Not White Enough, Not Black Enough: Reimagining Affirmative Action Jurisprudence in Law School Admissions Through a Filipino-American Paradigm”

Noah Goldenberg, Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law at Arizona State University
“Indian Embryos as “Indian Children?””

Christopher G. (Martz) Arima, Syracuse University College of Law
“Domestic Violence in Iraq: Legal Barriers to Survivors in Pursuit of Justice”

Puja Upadhyay, Temple University Beasley School of Law
“Health-Harming Effects of Court Fines and Fees: Modern Day Debtors’ Prisons as a Public Health Threat”

Kaitlin Littleberry, Thurgood Marshall School of Law at Texas Southern University
“Brief in Support of Motion for Summary Judgement”

Kellie Constantine, Tulane Law School
“United States v. Flowers: The Implication of High Crime Areas and the Experienced Police Officer on the Reasonable Suspicion Standard of Terry Stops”

Christian Robledo, Touro University, Jacob D. Fuchsberg Law Center
“An American Dream Gone Green: A Discussion of Existing Environmental Marketing Regulations and the Need for Stricter Legislation”

Austin Quick, University of Arizona, James E. Rogers College of Law
“Breaking the Monopsony Mirror: Evaluating the Collateral Market Procompetitive Justification in the Context of NCAA v. Alston”

Barbara Rodriguez, University of Iowa College of Law
“In the Interest of Justice: Presuming the Prejudice When the Right to Counsel in Removal Proceedings is Denied”

Travis Brammer, University of Wyoming College of Law
“Using Land and Water Conservation Fund Money to Protect Western Migration Corridors”

Travis Studdard, UNLV Boyd School of Law
“Riling Up As Recommendation: How Commission-Free Brokerages Recommend Active Investing to the Public”

Elsa Larsen, Vermont Law and Graduate School
“Bet On It”

Sophia Persephone Barry-Hinton, Wake Forest University School of Law
“Transgender Athlete Bans and the Anatomy of Anti-Transgender Politics”

Maggie Lohmann, West Virginia University College of Law
“Law of the Land: The Continuing Legacy of Indian Law’s Racist Roots and Its Impact on Native American Land Rights”

The Academic Board, which reviewed articles published within the past year, was led by Virginia Wise, Chair, formerly of Harvard Law School; Kristen K. Tiscione, Georgetown Law Center; Lindsay Sturges Saffouri, UC Berkeley School of Law, William C. Burton, Founder and Chair of the event; and William Ryan, former member of the Department of Homeland Security and Chair of the White House Plain Language Committee.

William Burton, Founder and Chair of the awards program, said “The winners are truly exemplary, technically skilled and effective writers. The authors have set a new and even higher standard of excellence.”