2012 Event

First Debate Held During Program

U.S. Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor introduced U.S. Supreme Court Justice John Paul Stevens (retired), who received the “Book of the Year in Law” Award. James M. Rishwain Jr., Esq., was the dinner chair, and North Carolina Attorney General Roy Cooper was a guest speaker. For the first time, a debate called “Point/Counterpoint” was held. Miguel A. Estrada of Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP and Neal Katyal of Hogan Lovells presented arguments on the Health Care Mandate. The “Morrison & Foerster Regulatory Innovation” Award was presented to Cass Sunstein, Administrator of the Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs in the White House Office of Management and Budget, by Keith C. Wetmore, Chair, Morrison & Foerster LLP. Anne Kringel presented the “Outstanding Contributions to Legal Writing” Award to Tina L. Stark, Professor in the Practice of Law, Boston University School of Law. Awards were presented to Eric J. Fygi, Deputy General Counsel, U.S. Department of Energy for Public Service, and Janet Dhillon, Executive Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary, J.C. Penny Company, Inc., for Public Interest.