2022 Event

The Twenty-Third Anniversary Celebration

The Twenty Third Anniversary Program of the Burton Awards was held on June 13th, 2022, at the venerable Library of Congress.

Opening the program, we were honored to have U.S. Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor speak on the legacy of the Honorable Robert A. Katzmann, Chief Judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit.

Immediately following the Justice’s moving speech, a surprise performance of “Unforgettable,” an original musical, told the creative, but not factual story of how Mr. Burton got the idea to start the Burton Awards and recognize some of the finest achievements in law, including legal writing. The unexpecting audience was surprised and delighted by the 15-minute, heartfelt and comedic journey of one man’s vision becoming a reality.

Political commentator, author, radio host, and former co-host of Crossfire, Bill Press, served as our master of ceremonies. Welcome remarks were delivered by the Honorable Carla Hayden, Librarian of Congress, and Reginald Turner, former President of the American Bar Association.

The Outstanding Humanitarian in Law Award was presented to David Rubenstein, Co-Founder, and Co-Executive, Chairman of the Carlyle Group. Colonel Tania M. Martin was honored for her public service in the military; Nancy E. Weiss received the Public Service Award in Government at the Executive Level; Lara Eilhardt was recognized for his Public Service in the Government at the Management Level; and Dorian Daley received an award for Outstanding Corporate Contributions in Law, which Michael Clancy, Senior Vice President and Associate General Counsel, North America Public Sector Legal, accepted on her behalf.

Linda Klein presented the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award to Judge Dennis W. Archer.  Later in the program the Law Firm Leadership Award was presented to Brad Karp, Chairman of Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison by Betty Whelchel; Blog of the Year was presented to Chris Allen of Cozen O’Connor P.C. by Lisa Rickard.

Following the awards ceremony, the audience entered the Great Hall for dinner on the Atrium Level while a full orchestra played.  Then to top off the evening, a mesmerizing show by renowned mentalist Oz Pearlman, followed by a spectacular performance by singer-songwriter, actor, and author, Sara Bareilles.

The program sponsors were Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz, Davis Polk & Wardell, and Williams & Connolly LLP.