2015 Event

“Point/Counterpoint” Renamed “Rapid Fire”

Maurice Watson, Chairman of Husch Blackwell, spoke as the Dinner Chair. Robert Newlen, Chief of Staff, Library of Congress, and Lillian Gaskin, member of the ABA Standing Committee on the Law Library of Congress, also gave remarks. U.S. Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor spoke about the impact of her biography, My Beloved World, informally walking through the aisles. The Public Service and Military Awards were presented by Jane Roberts, Managing Director, Major, Lindsey & Africa. Adam Liptak, U.S. Supreme Court Correspondent to the New York Times, interviewed the Honorable Robert A. Katzmann, Chief Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit. The Legends in Law Awards were presented by Committee Co-Chairs Thomas L. Sager, Partner, Ballard Spahr LLP, and Les Parrette, Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Compliance Officer, Novelis Inc. The “Outstanding Contributions to Legal Writing Education” Award was presented by Noah Messing, Chair of the Committee, to Marilyn Walter, Professor of Law Emerita and Director of the Legal Writing Program, Brooklyn Law School. The “Outstanding Journalist in Law” Award was presented by Roy Gutterman, Associate Professor of Communications Law and Journalism and Director of the Tully Center, S.I. Newhouse School, Syracuse University, to Ken Armstrong, Staff Writer, The Marshall Project. The debate, now “Rapid Fire,” argued on the Affordable Care Act Subsidies. Jay Alan Sekulow, Chief Counsel, the American Center for Law and Justice and the European Centre for Law and Justice, battled Robert Long, Partner of Covington & Burling.


Legends in Law Luncheon




Program & Gala